Staff

The Washington Student Achievement Council - GEAR UP staff serve 26 school districts around the state of Washington.

Weiya Liang, Director
weiyal@wsac.wa.gov
(360) 753-7884
General oversight of program. 

Marcie Sample, Associate Director for College Access & Support
marcies@wsac.wa.gov
(360) 753-7788
General oversight of program. Provides direct support and technical assistance to school districts. 
 
Beth Kelly, Assistant Director for College Access and Support 
bethk@wsac.wa.gov
(360) 753-7826
Leads professional development partnerships. Identifies, develops and distributes program resources and contents. Leads GEAR UP West conference planning. 

TBD Communications Specialist
Manages the GEAR UP website, publications, updating of program materials, social media pages, incentives, creates GEAR UP West conference materials and vendor selection. 

Kelly Keeney, Program Specialist II
kellyk@wsac.wa.gov
(360) 753-7838
Manages meeting and training logistics. Provides technical assistance to schools for data collection and reporting. Leads registration and logistics planning for GEAR UP West. 
  
Lori Vani, Program Manager
loriv@wsac.wa.gov
(360) 753-7789
Manages the contract reimbursement process and match documentation.

Christina Winstead, Program Associate for Outreach
christinaw@wsac.wa.gov
Manages the 12th Year Campaign and FAFSA completion portal outreach.